February 06, 2020

Presenting BBC Philharmonic's "Journey Through Music"

Robert will present a 45-minute workshop at the Bridgewater Hall alongside members of the BBC Philharmonic as part of the orchestra's Journey Through Music programme. During the event, three works will be performed, including two short new pieces written for the occasion.

December 28, 2019

Turing Test//Prelude broadcast on BBC Four

Robert's work Turing Test//Prelude was performed by Chineke! Orchestra and broadcast on BBC Four as part of the Royal Institution's Christmas Lecture series.

November 26, 2019

Winner of Philip Bates Prize 2019

Robert's work for string quartet, Aroha, has been selected as a winner of the 2019 Philip Bates Prize. This work was premiered at the Wigmore Hall in May 2019, and was performed at this Prize concert at the Birmingham Conservatoire by the Echea Quartet.

July 25, 2019

Commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society

Robert has been commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society for a new work in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra's 2019/20 season. This commission is part of 'RPS Composers', previously known as the RPS Composition Prize, and is supported by Schott Music and ABRSM. For more details, click here.

June 21, 2019

Interviewed on BBC Radio 3 'Music Matters'

Robert has been interviewed by Tom Service for the programme Music Matters on BBC Radio 3. This special edition focusses on AI and Music, and features extracts from Robert's work 'Three Entistatios for Chamber Ensemble', written for the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. The programme can be heard here:


May 19, 2019

'Aroha' featured on Radio 3

Robert's string quartet 'Aroha' will be featured on Radio 3's In Tune programme on Wednesday 22nd May. The Elias Quartet will be live in the studio, performing it amongst other pieces in advance of its world premiere at Wigmore Hall on May 23rd.

May 12, 2019

Awarded Artist-in-Residency at Aldeburgh

Robert has been awarded an Artist-in-Residency, supported by Wild Plum Arts and the Britten-Pears Foundation, at Aldeburgh during August 2019. This residency will be used to work on a new orchestral work for the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. For more information on "Made at the Red House", click here.

April 14, 2019

BBC Philharmonic Orchestra perform Three Entistatios

In the first performance of Robert's music composed using artificial intelligence-based tools, the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra will perform Three Entistatios for Chamber Ensemble at the University of Salford's Research Festival at the BBC's MediaCity Studio on July 2nd. An "Entistatio" is a word invented and defined by artificial intelligence trained on the English dictionary. It means "a short piece of music or metal".

March 04, 2019

Elias Quartet to premiere string quartet at Wigmore Hall

The Elias Quartet will perform the world premiere of Robert's Aroha at Wigmore Hall on May 23rd. Robert's work was selected to be performed at this concert alongside Schumann's 3rd quartet after winning the RNCM/Elias Quartet Composition Prize in February. Tickets are available from Wigmore Hall's website.

February 21, 2019

Commissioned by the Barbican Centre

Robert has been commissioned by the Barbican Centre as part of the 2019/2020 season Life Rewired for a new work in collaboration with the PRiSM team. The work will be performed by the Britten Sinfonia on November 2nd as part of an evening inspired by Ada Lovelace, curated by composer Emily Howard. 

1 / 3

Please reload

© 2019 Robert Laidlow

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon