Photograph by Tom Haniff

Robert Laidlow is a composer and performer based in London and Manchester. His music has been performed and broadcast worldwide and has received international awards including the Royal Philharmonic Society Emerging Composers Prize 2019, nomination for the 2018 British Composer Awards and selection as a winner of the Abundant Silence Competition, USA.

Robert's work often incorporates his background as a jazz saxophonist and his interest in scientific collaborations. Robert is the PRiSM Researcher in AI-Assisted Composition in association with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra at the Royal Northern College of Music.

Recently he has been commissioned by the Barbican Centre, guitarist Fabio Zanon, the International Festival of Campos do Jordao, Access Contemporary Music Chicago, and the violist Katherine Clarke, and is currently working with Southampton Concert Wind Band as part of Making Music UK's 'Adopt A Composer' programme, which will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3.

This year his string quartet 'Aroha' was premiered by the Elias Quartet at Wigmore Hall, and in 2019 he is an Artist-in-Residence at Aldeburgh as part of Wild Plum Arts' "Made at the Red House". His music has been performed by groups including Ensemble Modern, the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Psappha, the Berkeley Ensemble, the Milwaukee Symphony and Ballet, the Britten Sinfonia, Tritium Trio, and the Hermes Experiment.

After graduating from Emmanuel College, Cambridge, with First Class Honours, he studied composition with David Sawer at the Royal Academy of Music in receipt of the Dr. Mosco Carner Scholarship 2016-2018, where he also received regular lessons from Oliver Knussen. In 2018 he began a PhD at the Royal Northern College of Music, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council.


He believes strongly in accessibility of new music and works to make sure as many performers and audiences as possible can become involved with the practice. His music has been performed by several amateur ensembles including Contemporary Music for All London & Sussex ensembles.

© 2019 Robert Laidlow

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon